Purple

Say that word several times, look at it and see if you don’t end up where I am wondering just what kind of word it is.

My job here is complete – well almost, let me add some shades of blue and purple (there aren’t you still wondering about that word? It’s like moist, a sound all by itself) in the flowers I have seen on my excursions. To see birds you have to look up, for stumps and trees you have to look around, and for flowers, particularly some of the tinier ones you have to look down. Combine that with overseeing Etta you can tell my neck gets a lot of exercise.

Foxglove

Foxglove

In a nifty segue between the last blog and this I have a foxglove, all alone nestled in the shade of this tree. It’s around 8:30 am I think so only the weakest rays of the sun reach it. Foxgloves aka Digitalis are interesting plants. There are white and purple around this area. Beautiful but potentially deadly in ingested.

Foxglove closeup

Foxglove closeup

Not deadly to insects fortunately, here you can see the path leading from the lip of the flower bell down to the pollen. I have some vague memory of a children’s book describing the markings as a path. Enid Blyton perhaps, how I love her books, makes me smile just remembering.

Speedwell

Speedwell

 

Speedwell

Speedwell

I tried very hard to identify the plants I didn’t know, and it wasn’t easy might I add – but nothing is too hard for my readers. These tiny flowers peeking through the grass are speedwell I believe.  If I get any wrong please let me know, and there are a few mysteries that I will leave til last. I left the daisy in the first of these two pictures to let you see just how tiny they are, that’s a regular common a garden daisy not one of the giant ones you can find.

Clover flower

Clover flower

Here’s a pretty clover, no four-leaved luck for me but I’d rather have the beauty of the flower anyway, honest. 

Dwarf hyacinth

Grape hyacinth

Grape Hyacinth dotting the grass, the pretty blue bells clustered tight with delicate white edging

Speaking of blue bells…

Bluebell

More lilac I know but bluebells all the same and in the same family as the hyacinth above. Reading the wiki the bluebell is possibly a favourite flower in the UK and it is certainly one of mine. However I love blue, it’s my absolute favourite colour. Period.  So cornflowers are high on my list. This is not the more usual bright blue (I wish it were) but Mountain Cornflower

Cornflower

Cornflower

What I love about this picture is the bud on the bottom left, the casing around the unopened flower is just magical, like a suit of armour waiting to be taken off.

Little Periwinkle

Little Periwinkle

Little periwinkle, peeking out, unbowed by the rain. The rain is difficult because cameras don’t like getting wet, otherwise I am as unbowed and undaunted as the flowers and trees. I have the aim of capturing a perfect picture or a raindrop on a leaf or petal and have some pictures already to share later. The challenge came from a friend who took the most exquisite shot of juniper after rain and it stirred my soul.

Another creeping tiny, easily missed flower is the ground ivy. It seems to be either reviled or adored. Reviled as an encroacher of lawans and adored as a gorgeous tumbling plant. As it isn’t growing in my lawn I shall go with the latter and enjoy its delicate beauty.

Shades

The next flowers are mysteries.

Sunbathing

This might be a wallflower, it grew along the edge of the grass above the stony beach you can see in the background, gay and bright in the sunshine.

Finally a mystery and a miracle.

Buzzzzzy

 

No idea what this flower is, it was in one of the boxes behind the house, but the insect is a bee. That little insect, dusted with pollen that you can see on his legs and wings and hairs is more important that many appreciate. I saw this today on Facebook. Worth thinking about seriously and not just bees but all pollinators. 

Short and sweet and if you take anything away from this apart from we love bees – I hope it makes you look down and see the beauty hidden among the commonplace.

 

Thanks for reading

Jules xx

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Purple

Leave a Reply

